Six Cardinals Named to Landmark Winter All-Sportsmanship

Six Cardinals Named to Landmark Winter All-Sportsmanship

TOWSON, Md. - The Landmark Conference announced on Thursday that 44 student-athletes have been named to Winter All-Sportsmanship Teams, including six from Catholic University.

The recipients from Catholic included men's basketball senior Collin Hartmann, women's basketball sophomore Maggie Bednarek, men's swimming & diving sophomore Alec Powers, women's swimming & diving junior Kayla Ruffo, men's indoor track & field junior Tim O'Brien and women's indoor track & field sophomore Anna Walcutt.

All six individuals were first time selections.

The All-Sportsmanship Team includes one student-athlete from each institution for each sport and is selected by the players and coaches from their respective team.

The All-Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes who epitomize the ideals of sportsmanship. The student-athletes selected demonstrate fair play, graciousness in victory and respectfulness in defeat. They are ambassadors for the team, both on and off the field, and galvanize their teammates toward their goals. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, officials, spectators, and the greater campus community.

The All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the Landmark Conference Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) in 2013 as a way to highlight student-athletes who are making an impact. The conference previously awarded a Sportsmanship Cup before the All-Sportsmanship Team replaced the Cup for the 2013-14 academic year.